In the center is the resurrection from the grave and the descent into the underworld (the realm of the dead). Christ on the crushed gates of the realm of the dead, tears Adam and Eve out of the maw of death and with them the righteous of the Old Testament.


From left to right the feasts:

  1. Birth of the Mother of God (Great Feast: September 8)
  2. Presentation of the Mother of God (Great Feast: November 21)
  3. Annunciation of the Mother of God (Great Feast: March 25th)
  4. Birth of Christ (Great Feast: December 25th)
  5. Presentation of Jesus at the Temple (Great Feast: February 2)
  6. Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan (Great Feast: January 6)
  7. Entry into Jerusalem (Great Feast)
  8. The Transfiguration of the Christ (Great Feast: August 6)
  9. Ascension of Christ (Great Feast: 40 days after Easter)
  10. The Feast of the Cross/Exaltation of the Cross (Great Feast: September 14)
  11. Holy Old Trinity/Visit of the three men to Abraham (Great Feast)
  12. Dormition of the Mother of God (Great Feast: August 15)

Russian icon | Easter and the 12 Great Feasts | 24484

SKU: 24484
  • Original antique Russian orthodox icon

    Certificate of authenticity from an independent expert at the Vienna Dorotheum
  • Age

    around 1800
  • Size

    36 x 29 cm (14.2 x 11.4 in)

  • Visit us in our gallery:

    Ikonen Mautner, Herrengasse 2-4, 1010 Vienna, Austria.
  • Price information and further information: or +43 1 533 12 24.
  • Deliveries:

    We offer insured deliveries worldwide.